Pulag 100K + 20 – 2023 Edition

With all the photos and videos I took, I guess I can already use Bill Medley and Jennifer Warnes’s lines –that “I’ve had the time of my life”–in my first King of the Mountain Trail Run race Pulag 100* last April 2023.

Balete to Cabayo AS: Favorite sunrise during a race

Sa sobrang pag-e-enjoy ay muntik ko pa ngang maubos ang 35 hours na cutoff time. 😆🥲

1. Jogged the runnable parts of the first 30KMs especially the flats of the Balete-Cabayo segment, as per advice (para magamit naman ‘yong training runs!)

2. Had tinola soup (and sayote) in all the aid stations na may pa-rice meal–except in West Kayapa where Ecka of AlterMeatph shared her vegan longganisa and bbq–super thank you!– (lacto-ovo-vegetarian diet pa rin naman)

3. Hiked with different groups na maabutan from Cabayo to finish line. Interesting convos with old and new friends habang nagagalit ang araw, sumisipol ang hangin, nangangalabit ang mga limatik, at nangyayapos ang ulan at lamig. Favorite convo was about the moral dilemma of helping a fellow runner even if it means finishing beyond the cutoff time.

4. Sang and hummed along my worship playlist while praying/meditating in motion–to ward off those quitting thoughts, and ignore the nagging pain in my left knee and minor chafing in both feet

5. Bathed in Poblacion, Itogon before tackling the last 11KM (changed top, washed my cycling pants and bought a new pair of socks) because a philosopher once said: clean as you go 🤣

6. Had haluhalo before ascending Happy Hallow trail.

I’ve had the time of my life, it’s the truth, and I owe it all to the Lord for His grace is always enough–lagi Niyang sagot no’ng napapadasal na ako sa pagod at antok 🥱

– Salamat sa aking pamilya na napuyat ko pa yata para lang i-monitor ako. (First major race ko na may ganitong live timing technology!)

– Salamat sa mga kaibigang nagbigay/nagpahiram ng ilang mga mandatory running gears. (‘Yan na po ang bago kong love language.)

– Salamat sa mga kaibigang nagbigay ng advice/tips/notes; nag-cheer/nag-asikaso sa mga aid stations; nakasama sa recce; nakasabay sa van/lodging house/actual race; kumuha ng litrato/video

Uulit pa? Yes–bitbit ang mga aral (pero less bitbit na sa vest hahahuhu and more pei pa koa I guess🤔)

*Pulag Ranger Station to Camp John Hay; approximately 120KMs; EG 6430m EL 7410m

Leaving Cabayo Aid Station with a toothy smile

📸Bongbernadez Photography

Leave a comment